Don Bosco – Fr. McFerran Trophy All India Football Tournament 2018

Fr. Sean McFerran, an Irish missionary was one of the early pioneering missionaries who brought the lively charisma of Don Bosco to Indian soil and particularly to the city of Chennai. He spent thirty six years, rendering committed service, in India (1936 to 1972) and ten more years of constant visits to Chennai. Known in sports circles as 'Sporting Padre' he was truly a champion of the under privileged and marginalised. Since this year is the birth centenary of Fr. McFerran (January 13, 1918 - November 11, 1988), the Don Bosco – Fr. McFerran Trophy All India Football Tournament 2018 was conducted in commemoration and to perpetuate the memory of Don Bosco and Fr. McFerran.

    The Tournament commenced on January 13, 2018 with Ms.Vita Dani, Co-Owner of Chennaiyin F.C inaugurating and Mr. Abhishek Bachchan, Co-Owner of Chennaiyin F.C as the Star Guest. Rev. Fr. John Peter, Rector presided over the function in which Mr. P. N. Ravikumar, President, Tiruvallur District Football Association and Dr. Md. Ubaidur Rahman, CEO, M/s.Cosco (India) Ltd were Guests of Honour.

    The Inaugural match was between Chennaiyin F.C and I.C.F.S.A – CFC won 2-1. Sixteen teams from various States viz Tamilnadu, Kerala, Karnataka, Telangana, Goa and Puducherry participated in the Tournament, which was played on knockout basis with 90 minutes duration for each match.

    The Tournament was held under the auspices of the Tiruvallur District Football Association as sanctioned by Tamilnadu Football Association (TFA) and Registered with the All India Football Federation (AIFF).

    The participating teams were :

    1.Chennai City F.C (CFA : Senior Division : Winners)
    2.Viva Chennai FC (CFA : Senior Division : Runner – up)
    3.Chennai F.C
    4.Chennai Customs
    5.I.C.F.S.A (Runner up of the Tournament – 2013)
    6.Chennaiyin F.C (B Team)
    7.Tiruvallur DFA
    8.DBYC Basin Bridge (CFA : II Division League : Interzone : III Place)

    1.Brothers Club, Kannur
    2.Cannanore Spirited Youths Club
    3.DBYC, Kochi

    1.Bangalore DFA (Winner of the Tournament: 2011, 2013 & 2015; Runner-up of the Tournament: 2005 & 2009).
    2.ASC Bangalore (Runner up of the Tournament: 2015)

    Telangana: Hyderabad (TFA)
    Goa: Goa FA XI
    Puducherry: Puducherry Police

    The notable feature is that it is the only All India Football Tournament in the State conducted without gate collection (Entry tickets). Cash incentive of Rs.30000/- to the Winners and Rs.20000/- to the Runners-up, besides special Awards to the Best Players, Best upcoming players and Top scorer of the Tournament were given.

    In the final match played on Sunday, ASC Bangalore edged out Goa FA by a solitary goal. The all important goal was scored by C. Jotin Singh (J. No.15) in the 35th minute.

    Prize distribution was held after the final match. Rev. Fr. K.M. Jose, Salesian Provincial presided. Mr. Denis McFerran, nephew of Fr. McFerran from Ireland was the Chief Guest.

    Best Players:

    1. Best Goalkeeper: Mr. Samik Mithra – Chennaiyin FC
    2. Best Defender: Mr. Robinson – ASC Bangalore
    3. Best Midfielder: Mr. Sanjay Sharma – Chennai FC
    4. Best Attacker: Mr. Shivkumar – Bangalore DFA
    5. Best Upcoming Player: Mr. Saravanan – DBYC, Basin Bridge
    6. Best Upcoming Player: Mr. Maruthu – Thiruvallur DFA

    Top Scorer: Marvoti Horizon – Chennai FC (Six Goals)

    Chennai – Wisdom Town

    News Posted By

    Dominic Matthews

    News Approved By